Remove this ad

Lead

Feb 11 13 11:14 AM

Tags : :

Hi all,

total WSS noob here! I've got my copy of Black Powder, Last Argument of Kings, Lace Wars vol 4 for scenarios, a paint guide, 8 boxes of infantry, 8 boxes of cavalry, and 6 boxes of artillery. Oh and about a hundred 40x40mm steel bases. Time to start assembling...

But there's so many heads and hats on the sprues! Who gets what type of head?

I know Grenadiers get the taller hats, but is there a specific French-only-wear-this-type-of-hat, or Dutch-never-wore-this-hat, sort of guidelines for the plastics? There's different grenadier hats, floppy hats, tricorns, feathers, and what-have-you. And i'd be very sad if I assembled and painted some Bavarians and they had British only headwear on! So who gets what?

Any help appreciated, thanks!

Doug

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

jack

fanatic

#1 [url]

Feb 12 13 1:15 AM

judgedoug

WELCOME!

I am "Not" any authority of the WSS, however I would highly advise you to use your computer and search the net for pics and drawings for units / troops of that war.

And I MOST strongly advise you to go to the "Painted Miniatures and Conversions" topic under Categories at the first page of the Forum. The first subject "Show Off Your Work" should be of great help, but you will have to be patient. You may have to 'dig' thru pages to find what your looking for.
Also, scan the individual topics listed. For example: "My First Dutch" you will find listed on the first page of "P M & C". However "WSS British" is listed on the 3rd page. (this changes as newer topics push the older farther down the line as it were).
Im sure you can find some helpful ideas on the "Modeling and Painting" topic as well, again, be patient, theres a lot of helpful information right here.

And from one who is still a relative 'newbie' on the WSS, you can relax as for deciding what "head is right or wrong".